trying to decide on new strings

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by tww001, Nov 14, 2003.

1. tww001

Aug 13, 2003
    Telford, PA
    My bass currently has Pirastro Obligatos on it (I've had them on for about 2 or 3 months now), I love their boomy bottom and their arco response, but I don't really like the tone. They're quite bright. I'm a jazzer and am looking for something with a real dark, crisp attack (a la Mingus or Ray), but I still need good arco response (for college symphony orchestra). I was thinking of trying T-Is either spiros or superflexes, any thoughts anyone? I was reading in the newbie section that some people feel as if the superflexibles are darker and have better arco response...any thought on that?
  2. I'm no string expert (oh, SIR LAWRENCE!), but I think its fairly safe to say that if your looking for a string that's darker sounding that Obligatos, Spirocores are NOT the way to go. These are very bright strings. And as for decent arco response.....well, maybe after they've been on a couple of years....

As for rope core strings, such as the Superflexibles, I have no experience (I play Obligatos and find them to be plenty dark on my bass), but I would think that the Superflexes would be darker than Spiros, but still brighter than the Oblis.

If its dark you want, I'd stick with a synthetic-core or even gut string. Someone let me know if I'm way off base here.

As always, YMMV, and like everyone everyone else, you're gonna have to spend some dough to see what works best (which KILLS a miser like me).
  3. Francois Blais

Francois Blais Supporting Member

Dec 11, 1999
    Québec, Canada
    I agree with everything Mike wrote.
    The darkest rope-core steel strings I know are the Jargars.
    Excellent arco response, dark thumpy pizz tone.