1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Trying to get scales to pop out on the fretboard...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by BagsBass, Mar 27, 2009.

1. BagsBass

BagsBass

Mar 7, 2009
    I have been playing for a few years, but only now am i finally starting to learn my scales. i have a feeling that eventually they will just pop out at me and i'll see the scales as clear as day, cuz i can't think of any other way guys can shred or hit all sorts of notes so cleanly. my question is just on how to make this happen...is it just a matter of practicing scales over and over or are there actually tricks to get it to all make sense?

2. derekd

derekd

Feb 16, 2009
    KC
    Yes, I do think it is just a matter of practice. I also suggest thinking in intervals helps too. Eventually, individual notes begin to light up.

3. ErebusBass

ErebusBass

Feb 20, 2008
    Madison, WI
    Maple fretboard and a magic marker. ;)

You'll get it. It takes time.

4. JTE

JTE Supporting Member

Mar 12, 2008
    Central Illinois, USA
    For me it was a sudden epiphany. On stage no less- I was playing in a country band playing a song in G. So, I'm playing mostly G B, C G, and D, A. Then I SAW the chords within the major scale!! I really saw the G B D, C E G, and D F# A overlaid with the scale fingerings. It was the most usefull insight into how music works ever.

jte

5. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    the Cali Intergalctic Mind Space
    Song Surgeon slow downer software- full 4 hour demo
    You might want to take a look at this: http://www.how-to-play-bass.com/bass-hanon.html