Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Trying to Start A Band

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by MikeyFingers, Mar 18, 2006.

1. I guess this is the right forum to put this in....
    Anyway: I am desperate to start a band. I've been playing bass for over 5 years, I've become a pretty good player and I NEED to get myself in a band.
    The only time I've been able to play with other people was the last 3 years of high school where I was in the school band, and occassionally I can jam with a guitar player friend of mine, but he kinda sucks. He can make up some cool riffs, but he doesn't know ANYTHING about music or his instrument (he doesn't even know where the notes are on the neck, nothing).
    So, I ask you fellow TB'ers, how the hell do I start/join a band?
    Here's a rough outline of my "connections":
    All of the available musicians I know also play bass. I know 6 other bassists, so it's unlikely that I will be playing with them. Any other musicians I know are already in bands, or they play heavy metal which I really don't want to play, or they suck as previously mentioned. I don't know any drummers. I don't have a car right now which will be a HUGE limitation, but I'm working on fixing that.
    So basically, I need to know: Where do I find other musicians to start jammin with? Are there any website I can use like a classified ad or something like that? Are there any drummers in here who live on Long Island and wanna do something:)?

I've been playing bass alone for years and I'm really sick of it. I NEED a band ASAP. Please help, any way you can, please:bawl:.

2. BuffaloMO

BuffaloMO

May 26, 2005
    Land of OZ
    Same problem here. I have run an ad in the newspaper for months and only received a couple of inquiries. Other musicians are out there someplace. Good luck! :D