Trying to study music along with other career

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Dazo0423, Sep 4, 2018.

1. Dazo0423

Dazo0423

Sep 4, 2018
    Hi guys, I'm nearly finishing my high school and I just found a passion for music, and now I'm trying to make a step on making music my life. I've been playing the uprigth for two years, and I want to study it in college. My family (as all normal families, the ones that have no musicians in them) doesn't want me to study music because I -insert common the stereotypes-...
    I found these other career, audio and visual production, that I could take along with music and sounds like a perfect plan. How is it to study music and other career at the same time? Advises? By the way, I'd be glad to hear some motivational stories about studying music against your family's will

saabfender likes this.
  2. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Moderator Staff Member

I'm a college professor myself, not in music but history, which also has the joy of having been dubbed a "worthless" degree by people who don't understand education.

Here is what many people don't understand; college is not intended to be job training, and employers don't expect it to be. In most careers, they will train you in the specifics when you get there. What they want from a college graduate is not a degree in their field, but mental skills (the buzzphrase at my institution right now is "habits of mind," but it's a far older principle than the phrase). That's things like problem solving, critical thinking, time management, stress management, being able to organize, process, and re-present information in bulk and with sophistication, etc. The content you major in doesn't matter all that much, for employers it's the mental skills that count. Any specific job training you get in school is likely to be obsolete soon after you graduate.