1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tuba Player Looking for Help

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Dave Tucker, Feb 22, 2021.

1. Dave Tucker

Dave Tucker

Feb 22, 2021
    GA
    Hey all.

I’m a professional tuba player suffering from focal dystonia in my embouchure. I’m feeling like my brass playing days are numbered and want to pick up upright bass. I’ve messed around with basses before and have a strong ear and theory background, so I think I’m ready for an intermediate/advanced instrument. Pending tuba sales, I should have a budget of around $5k.

I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed right now, and am looking for some places/brands I should look at. I’m in GA if that helps.

(Edit) I should add that I’m interested in bluegrass/jazz playing.

Thanks!

eerbrev and Reedt2000 like this.
  2. Reedt2000

Reedt2000 Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2017
    Central New Jersey
    Sorry to hear your having issues with the tuba. You've posted this in the bass guitar side of TB. You'll likely have better results in the double bass side. The mods can move it for you. I'll report it and see if it gets moved.

3. Dave Tucker

Dave Tucker

Feb 22, 2021
    GA
    Thank you! Newb here!

eerbrev, krfoss and Reedt2000 like this.
  4. Reedt2000

Reedt2000 Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2017
    Central New Jersey
    No problem, it's been moved :thumbsup:

5. CaseyVancouver

CaseyVancouver

Nov 4, 2012
    Welcome to Talkbass. I hope things work out for you.

We have some good sub-forums for jazz technique and bluegrass you will enjoy checking out.
    Also Talkbass classifieds is awesome for double bass purchases.

eerbrev likes this.