1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tube amp service.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by 68Goldfish, Feb 17, 2008.

1. 68Goldfish

68Goldfish Supporting Member

Nov 4, 2006
    Port Orchard WA
    Hey dudes. I'm wondering how one goes about learning how to service tube amps. I mean from the ground up. I'm an auto tech (have been for twenty plus years) so I'm mechanicaly inclined and have a lot of electrical background and I've got all the tools I think I would need. . I know I could fix these amps if I had the proper information and service manuals. Is there a good book somebody could recomend on the theory, principles and repair of tube amps? I understand there's significant voltage differences between automotive and house aplications but I think I could do it safely.
    Thanks TB:bassist:

2. You could start by taking an electronics course. There are home study companies who offer service technician training. these will tell you nothing about tube amps but will teach you how to diagnose and repair SS equipment. This training will help you when you work on tubes. To learn about actual tube electronics, build something simple. A pre-amp or a single ended amplifier perhaps. I will take time to gain the knowledge you need just as it took time to learn about auto mechanics. As you gain experience maybe build a 50 or 100W amp. Buy old tube equipment and restore it.

As for books, several tube "Gurus" have written books which explain how tube stuff operates and some have schematics for existing equipment. Dave Funks' Tube Amp workbook is one example. Jack Darrs tube amp book is very good. Kevin o'Conner of London Power has several books available. All are quite well written.

The biggie here is to remember at all times that a tube operates a lethal voltages. Be very aware at all times of what you are about to touch.