1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tube Help Please (i know this has been posted a ton of times)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Limlam, Jun 11, 2007.

1. Limlam

Limlam

Jun 9, 2007
    Austin, Texas
    I just got a sunn 300t, when it arrived one of the tubes was smashed, the two pairs that left were a GT6550 and EH pair. I want to replace all the tubes in the amplifier. Im pretty new to bass tube amps with this being my first 'real' amp. Ive been trying to read up on which tubes to replace them with but im getting pretty lost to be honest.
    I want something with alot of bottom end growl that can take a beating.
    Ive read about the whole KT88 vs 6550 argument but with being new to buying tubes all these brands sovtek, tung sol, NOS etc dont mean much to me, so a point in the right direction would be very much appreciated.

thanks
    Liam

2. BbbyBld

BbbyBld

Oct 13, 2005
    Meridian, MS
    If you want a set of tubes that are very well made, stand up to abuse, and have a very clean output, look into the JJ KT88.

3. EUROTUBES.COM sell JJ KT88's work beautifully in the Fender/sunn 300t Good price & service!! I bought a sextet for mine. ALL GOOD!!!!

4. Limlam

Limlam

Jun 9, 2007
    Austin, Texas
    yeah i spent many hours reading through the old threads on here and elsewhere on the web and settled for the JJ KT88's look forward to hearing them.

5. Good one- tell us what U think of 'em!

6. FunkyFrosty

FunkyFrosty

May 28, 2006
    Ontario
    BbbyBld - will the JJ KT88's also work in the Peavey Classic 400???

7. BbbyBld

BbbyBld

Oct 13, 2005
    Meridian, MS
    In my opinion, that is THE tube to use in the Classic 400 other than stock. That's what we use in our service department. They are really well made. I've really been impressed with the quality of JJ tubes in general over the past two years.