Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Tube vs. Solid State (or Mosfet)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by fivestarharbor, Jun 6, 2002.

1. fivestarharbor

fivestarharbor

Jun 6, 2002
    I'm needing some help deciding what amp head to get. I'm new to the whole tube amp thing, because all I've ever played on before was an SWR Workingman's 2004 and Ampeg BA-115. I heard that tube amps have more output than solid state. Like one guy said that 300W of tube power is about the same as 5000W of solid state (I realize it's an exaggeration, just using it as an example to explain what I'm talking about.) Is that true? If so, does anyone know how much louder tube amps are than solid state amps rated at the same wattage? I'm asking because I'm looking into buying one of three amps - Ampeg V4B, B2R, or SVT-CL. I've played through an SVT-350 (same as B2R) and it had plenty of power, but if tube amps are as powerful as some say, I'm gonna go with the V4B. I may even spend the extra cash and get the 300W SVT Classic. Any opinions on which would be better as far as power rating? I know tube sounds better, I just want to know which would be most powerful.

2. I'll let someone else handle the volume part of it.

But if you are looking at the SVT-CL, it has a brother, the SVT-2. It's got more features, same power. Just letting ya know.

3. ihixulu

ihixulu Supporting Member

Mar 31, 2000
    getting warmer
    Ever hear the one about how five pounds of feathers wheigh less than five pounds of lead?

4. chienmort

chienmort

Aug 15, 2012
    Don't start bringing mass, aerodynamics or any other science into what is clearly a subjective and prejudiced discussion.

5. chadds

chadds

Mar 18, 2000
    +1!! Why when we can spout theories based on no experience? The fact that we can say them with conviction makes them true.