Tube vs SS feeling in your stomach...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Son of Bovril, Oct 10, 2005.

1. I'm wondering: 300watt tube head vs 100watt SS head...

With a 1000watt SS head you get that wonderful sensation of real POWER behind the sound (I'm not really sure how to describe this one... I'm sure some of you have experienced it?), I have limited experience with all tube heads?

My question is:

Do you get that same sensation of ultimate power with a 300watt tube head... I know it is loud (roughly the same volume), but it's still only 300watts? Or is that sensation of power dependant on volume rather than power?
  2. BurningSkies

BurningSkies CRAZY BALDHEAD

Feb 20, 2005
    Seweracuse, NY

Yup. You can get the same feeling by standing in front of a tube amp turned up loud. Try a 400+, SVT or Classic 400 and you'll see. Not just that, but the tonal profile of a tube amp is so rich and full that it's WORTH the extra $ & Pounds.
  3. Unfortunately the only experience I've had with tube amps is limited to the SVT CL and 810 in a couple of gig situations...

I could not get the damn thing to stay clean! it just went gritty and lost all it's punch? probably my lack of experience with the amp, but it certainly didn't have the power that the SVT4 had in the same situation?
  4. chaosMK

May 26, 2005
    Albuquerque, NM
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    I used to use an SVT-4 and ran it into a 2x15 and 4x10 cabinet. It had some power, but now that I use a Mesa Bass 400 it seems like it had a kind of flat tone in comparisson.

My Bass 400 (with 6L6 tubes, producing a mere 180 watts), going into a Mesa 4x10 cab has way more balls to it than my SVT-4 into an Ampeg 4x10. The Mesa setup hits you in the chest about 10-15 feet away, shakes your pant legs if you are up close.
  5. mmm...sounds good - pant shaking...
  6. FireBug

Sep 18, 2005
    SS amps always sounded a little dry to me. I like the sound of harmonic overtones. Good stuff.
  7. Fealach