Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Tubes Vs. Solid State (is solid state bad?)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by gfgfgf, Apr 27, 2005.

1. gfgfgf

gfgfgf

Apr 27, 2005
    Toronto, Canada
    In guitar amplification all professionals use tube amps. Are the tubes that important for a professional bass sound? I want to buy amp Fender Bassman 100 or Hartke Kickback 10, and just wanted to know, would I loose much in sound if it's solid state?

sorry, I'm a guitarist... (that's why I know so little about bass sound). I had Ibanez SR400 and Fender Rumble 15 amp... I sold them and decided to buy some real gear (american fender jazz or precision bass and some good amp like Bassman 100).

2. Mike Money

Mike Money Banned

Mar 18, 2003
    Bakersfield California
    Avatar Speakers Endorsing Hooligan

Solid state bass stuff is awsome.... Flea is solid state, as are many others... but just as many also use tube amps. its all about preference.

Amps in the range you are talking dont even come with tubes, so dont worry about it.

3. gfgfgf

gfgfgf

Apr 27, 2005
    Toronto, Canada
    well, that's what one professional bassist I know says. thanks for the reply.

so... it's all about the preference...

4. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004
    Don't forget the cost involved... Tube amps start at $1300 with the Fender Bassman 300 Pro head.

5. gfgfgf

gfgfgf

Apr 27, 2005
    Toronto, Canada
    but if I buy Fender Bassman 100. would it be good? is it a good bass amp which will give me a good bass sound?

6. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004
    I used to practice through one. It is good for practice, but I wouldn't gig with it, unless you have some mellow bandmates and a good PA.

7. gfgfgf

gfgfgf

Apr 27, 2005
    Toronto, Canada
    actually, I am looking for an amp just for home practice. This one seems pretty much ok.

8. Kelly Lee