1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tuner for low B.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by felixxx, Mar 24, 2009.

1. Forgive my ignorance, but I would like to know which tuner you guys use for low B on a bass?
    My tuner doesn't go that low, sometimes even E gives it hickups.
    Thanks.

2. chaunceytoben

chaunceytoben

May 29, 2007
    Detroit, MI
    I just picked up a Korg Pitchjack for $20, easiest tuner Ive ever had. Just plug it into to the input jack. Plus it reads the low B like a champ.

http://www.korg.co.uk/products/tuners/pitchjack/tu_pj.asp

If you're looking for a pedal or rack tuner specifically, sorry i have little experience with those.

3. Grank

Grank

Jan 30, 2009
    Sydney, Australia
    I have a tuner in my Boss pedal (ME-50B) which works fine.

The $10 battery operated ones IMHO were "wanting". Considered buying a seperate "better" tuner ... but balked at the $100 price range and just stayed with the pedal.

[edit - hadn't tried the Korg - mine was a nemless Aussie model]

4. tomsewell

tomsewell

Feb 21, 2009
    Tupelo, MS
    Can't go wrong with a Boss TU-2 chromatic pedal tuner.

5. Mikio

Mikio

Feb 21, 2009
    Santiago de Chile
    [​IMG]

best ever.

6. JTE

JTE Supporting Member

Mar 12, 2008
    Central Illinois, USA
    Boss TU-2, Peterson VS-1, Sabine rackmount whatever it is, they all work. If your tuner has trouble with lower strings here's the things to try...

A. Use the neck PUP to cut down on the overtones
    B. Use the 12th fret harmonic- it IS exactly an octave above your open string unless your strings are worn out (in which case tuning really doesn't matter).
    C. Cut the highs on the bass
    D. Damp all the other strings

jte

7. ErebusBass

ErebusBass

Feb 20, 2008
    Madison, WI
    See post #5.

8. Sabine RT7000

It'll do a low A without a problem.

9. ehque

ehque

Jan 8, 2006