Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

tung oil finish

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by godoze, Dec 14, 2002.

1. godoze

godoze

Oct 21, 2002
    well, i was just on the web site of of respected bass maker that said no, he will not put a tung oil finish on a bass, that it is poor finish, and that if you don't mind sanding down your bass every couple of months and refinishing it you will be ok - I am paraphrasing here.

This person goes on to say that only small luthiers use this finish because it is cheap and avaliable in harware stores.

I would like the thoughts of the pro luthiers on this please. And also, what finishes do you use?

2. JP Basses

JP Basses

Mar 22, 2002
    Paris FRANCE
    I'm just a micro builder so...I use teak oil + wax finish :D

Why?
    because, IMHO, nothing beats the feel of oiled wood. Especially for the back of the neck.

None of my basses need to be sanded and refinished every 3 monthes. Oil offers less protection to scratches and dings but whenever there is a scratch or something else, the oil finish allows you to sand it down and refinish the small area to get you bass back new!

As far of sound, IME and to some extend, thick and solid finishes (like varnish) dampen the extreme frequencies of the instrument (extreme lows and highs).

BTW, where are you paraphrasing from??

Peace, JP

3. Brooks

Brooks

Apr 4, 2000
    Middle East
    I am no luthier, but I do own a tung oil finished Rick Turner Electroline, and I wouldn't consider Rick Turner 'a small luthier'. Each finish has it's advantages and disadvantages, and each can be applied in different ways.

A properly applied tung oil finish is a time consuming and meticulous affair. My Electroline hasn't been re-oiled or sanded in 3 years now, and the finish is still perfect.

4. godoze

godoze

Oct 21, 2002