tuning a 4-string with 35" scale length

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by pianowire, Aug 14, 2005.

1. pianowire

Aug 14, 2005

I'm a beginning bassist and just received as a gift an ESP 4-string electric bass with neck-thru construction and a 35" scale length. The literature that came with this bass emphasizes the benefits of the extra scale length for low-tunings. Since I'm just starting out, I just want to use standard pitch.

Would it be "safe" to tune a bass with a 35" scale length to standard pitch? It's strung with 50/70/90/110 gauges, if it makes any difference. My concern is stress on the neck. Do I need to have a setup or adjustment done?

(I wasn't sure whether to post this here in the Setup & Repair.)

2. joeyhimself

Jul 17, 2005
    You can tune it standard E-A-D-G. This won't hurt your neck or anything silly like that. The extra inch is supposed to provide extra tension for drop tunings, but it's not just for drop tunings only.
    Congrats on the new bass, by the way.
  3. metallicaorion

May 31, 2005
    Oswego IL
    +1 dont be freakin out about the difference between 34 & 35. only difference is in the number of frets (35 usally has 24). but its near impossible to bust a neck tuneing. i play a Schecter Stilletto Deluxe 5 string (35) and i tune and drop tune all the time and the neck is fine. Congrats esp are nice
  4. 8guy

Jun 19, 2005
    Madison WI
    I agree also, you wont hurt it at all, and welcome to the world of bass.....Have fun!!!!! :bassist:
  5. Arthur U. Poon

Arthur U. Poon

Jan 30, 2004
    SLC, Utah -USA-
    Endorsing Artist: Mike Lull Custom Basses
    Tuning your bass to standard pitch is fine; nothing to worry about at all. Have fun with your new bass.

- Art
  6. you're saying this like the scale length and number of frets are related...they're not....scale is the distance from nut to bridge and the spacing between frets is set-up accordingly.