Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

tuning and intonation

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Howard K, Dec 4, 2002.

1. Howard K

Howard K

Feb 14, 2002
    UK
    Absolute newbie here... :)

So far I have:
    Hired a DB.
    Got over the terrifying 'first tune up' (boy those strings are tight!)
    Played along with a few Abersold tracks...

I'm having problems a) tuning and b) with intonation...

I tune to a tuning fork - A, then tune the rest of the bass to that string - fine.

I started off by putting stickers on the side of the neck where the 5th & 7th then 3rd & 9th 'fret' markers would be, should fret markers be there?!!
    I did this by knowing 5th & 7th by the open string tunings, then using octaves to find the 3rd & 9th.

Then when I play I find that 'notes' are a lot further up the board than I expect them to be.

Now which is more likely - a) that I put the markers in the wrong place on two different occaisions, or my ears prefer to hear notes that are intonated higher than they should be?

Is it possible that my eats prefer to hear notes higher? - Is this a common problem when starting out a on a fretless instrument?

Please dont nag about the dots - I did it to start with to get my head around the huge f/board, but have since changerd my midn and decided that it is easier to play without them as they through you off finding the right pitch.

Also, any tips for tuning, as it takes me ages!!!

...on the plus side, I dont have any hand pains whatsoever yet. the guy I hired from showed me the ideal left hand technique - I've stuck to it as best I can and it seems to work :)

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001