Tuning change between pizz and arco???

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by tommythomas, Apr 22, 2003.

1. Last night I put bow to DB for the first time in my life. I was in heaven! I was amazed how good of a sound I got. I am sure the challenges are just around the corner. I'm a long time EB player and have fallen in love with the DB. And now bowed bass. mmm mmm mmm!

Anyway, since I got my DB 5 weeks ago I have been playing pizz only because my bow was on order. Last night I got my bow and after playing a bit I used an electronic tuner (is that common in DB) to tune WITH the bow. I played for awhile then switched to pizz and checked the tuning and the strings were a bit sharp.

Is this normal?? Thanks
  2. ZuluFunk

ZuluFunk Supporting Member

Apr 14, 2001
    I'm no DB expert...but generally in tuning...

the note starts out sharp when you pluck it then moves back to where it should be.
    If this was not the case, if it started out sharp and stayed sharp... I would bet that different overtones produced through bowing dominate the note and could produce the effect you saw. As you know, if your intonation is out on a BG, the 12-fret harmonics will be sharp/flat vs the open note.

I bet that didn't help, but as a DBer who still doesn't own a DB...I wouldn't be too surprised if that were the case.
  3. Alex Scott

Alex Scott

May 8, 2002
    Austin, TX
    I had that problem, and just about every other problem,

anyway, I worked with a tuner for a long time, trying to match pitch, my pizz was sharp, because I was distorting the pitch somehow.

sometimes, I would tune with pizz on my tuner, then I wouldbow and it would sound flat.

Jason seems to have had the opposite problem.

So, I eventually started to listen to the pitch, and learned to hear the correct pitch in my head to match, problem solved?

analyze the problem, find a solution, that way you will understand and be ablr to teach others.

good luck
  4. Drop the tuner.