Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

tuning your base into Drop D

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by happy_knappy, Jan 30, 2002.

1. happy_knappy

happy_knappy

Jan 30, 2002
    Hey i am a beginner and i was wondering how to tune your base into drop d. i have no clue how. And another question. WHat are the best strings for bass?

2. A bass in standard tuning has the strings pitched to EADG, with E being the thickest and lowest string, and looks like this:
    G|----
    D|----
    A|----
    E|----

Drop D tuning would be DADG, so turn the tuning peg on the E string counterclockwise so that the E string sounds like the D string. Drop D would therefore look like this:

G|----
    D|----
    A|----
    D|----

Someone else would probably be more knowledgable than I when it comes to strings. Hope that helped.

3. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Welcome to Talkbass, happy_knappy.:)

This is in the wrong Forum, but never fear, a Moderator will be along to move it soon enough.

We have an entire Forum devoted to strings and while the term best is highly subjective, you will find lots of opinions on great strings in that Forum.

Here is a link to Strings: http://www.talkbass.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=16

4. I don't know how to drop D, but I can tell ya how to drop E!:D

Corney Joke of the day

Anyways
    Just like Wang Chung said. And I'd suggest using a tuner seeing as your are a beginner, but as your ear matures and you can tell when two strings played together are in tune (it makes a very distince wah wah wah sound) you can try comparing the D string (2nd smallest) to the E string while dowtuning until you get thim in tune with each other. Make any sense?

Try a search over in the Stings forums for the best strings.

5. alx564

alx564

Jul 31, 2000
    Emmaus, PA