Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

tuning..?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by sys.of a down, Mar 28, 2002.

1. hello all.im new to playing bass and to this forum.and as a big fan of system of a down,i was wondering if anyone knew how to tune my 4 string to the same as their bassist.(c,g,c,f).thanks!

2. take a good look at your bass.. on the top there's a wooden piece called the 'headstock'.. on it there are 4,5,6 or sometimes even more iron mechanisms.

your strings are connected to those iron mechanisms, which we will call ' tuners ' for the time being..

if you turn your tuner clockwise or counterclockwise... the string will increase or decrease tension.. the tension of a string determines the tuning of it..

turn your E string so that it will show on your tuner as C.. repeat this step with the other strings as well, turn them until they are the way you want them..

voilla.

3. u know all of that.i just need to know how to tune it by ear,as pitchpipes dont have f and neither does a tuner.

oh, and by the way,anyone who doesnt know what a headstock or machine head is,should just forget about playing.

4. Johnny BoomBoom

Johnny BoomBoom Supporting Member

Jun 8, 2001
    Glasgow, Scotland
    OK, here's a thought. You know where c is - on the A string 3rd fret. Right, well play that note and play the open E. It'll sound horrible!!!! detune the E string until it sounds like the C - but 1 octave down!!

Now that you have the bottom string tuned to a low C, play the A string open and play your new C string at the 7th fret - and adjust the A string until it's in tune with you C string Fretted at the 7th. This'll give you G!