Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by altman, Oct 3, 2002.

1. altman

Oct 7, 2001
    I was jamming with some ppl the other night, and they were talking about turnarounds

(I'm a relative newbie) I've heard this term, and I've seen some tab references, but none of this tells me the concept (I crave concepts)

What are they?

What are they trying to accomplish?

Is there a general concept or progression or whatever that I can use to think myself from A to B?"

2. Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    A "turnaround" usually refers to the end of a 12 (or 24, or other divisible-by-4) bar blues progression and comprises the cool stuff that happens before the whole thing repeats itself.

If you're a bassist or drummer, it's your opportunity to throw in some catchy fills, because not much usually changes during the rest of those 12 bars.
  3. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

Just to tag on to Christopher's very good explanation in more of a "street" context;

- The reason Christopher says the turnaround is an opportunity to "throw in some catchy fills" is because there typically aren't any vocals during the turnaround.

- As for your question about "what they accomplish" a turnaround gives resolution to the typical I-IV-V blues progression......the turnaround
    "brings it all back home" and sets up the music to begin the next blues progresssion of chords and vocal verses. It's like the "ribbon on a wrapped gift". It tidies up the melody and makes it sound "complete" and keeps the instrumentalists glued together for the next verse/progression. Without the turnaround, the song/progression would sound like something is left "hanging" or unresolved before you went back to the tonic (the pattern/progression starts over again).

Those are generalizations. Chuck Berry's "Johnny B. Goode", however, is a typical blues progression but it has no turnarounds. One verse ends and the next verse or the chorus follows without any instrumental turnaround.