1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Turning 5 string to 4 string

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by CaptainTuna, Aug 10, 2012.

1. CaptainTuna

CaptainTuna

May 13, 2011
    Hey guys!

I'll start off by saying I've found lots of sites discussing about 4 to 5 conversion but nothing much about the exact opposite.

I'm not sure where to start or if there's anything that I have to pay extra attention about, or if this is even doable. I'm not a pro at these things, that's why I'm so uncertain of what the problems could be.

First thing: can it be done without changing everything? I have pickups with poles and I guess this is a huge issue, i guess.
    Next thing would be the bridge...but if the pickups are an issue I'll just think twice before moving to the next step.

Opinions?

2. The poles are going to be an issue.

If you're fine with that. You'll need:

New pups,
    New bridge,
    and a custom nut

Plus you'll either have an empty tuning peg or need to find something to do with the hole in your head stock.

3. smogg

smogg

Mar 27, 2007
    NPR, Florida
    I'm not crazy, I'm just a little unwell
    All kinds of reasons not to do it (right out of the gate probs w/the pups, neck will prob be too wide, need new nut, new bridge, just to name a few). If you are wanting to move back to four just sell the five and get a four stringer.

If it's a beater and you are trying a go at modding then by all means have fun. ;)

4. darkstorm

darkstorm

Oct 13, 2009
    You will also have a wider neck then most for 4string. This can greatly affect playability.

5. TheEmptyCell

TheEmptyCell Bearded Dingwall Enthusiast