Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

twang?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Chug_A_Lug, Apr 4, 2001.

1. um... okay, so i've been playing since the summer... well, i actually started a while ago, but i got my *own* love affair now. and for some reason, i'm having difficulty playing with my index finger. middle finger is fine (it's actually the dominant uh... finger... er...) but when i use my index finger i get a strange twang. (which is why i try to refrain from using it) but i know that as a bass player, i need to learn to alternate my fingers... but if it twangs... someone told me it's the way my index finger is hitting the string... but... i don't know! i don't know! shiranai! je ne sais pas!! ah, i'm just confused. but i know i know, practice practice!

~~E

practice practice practice

2. :D:D
    Ok. I'm no expert, but my advice would be to try plucking the string at different angles with your index finger, and see if/when/where you don't get that twangy sound. Voila! Problem solved, unless it makes it really hard for you to implement your middle finger into alternating plucking like that.

Alternatively, you could just go on with plucking with just one finger. Of course, I think the people that've done this before/do it now generally used their index finger, but I see nothing wrong with using just your middle finger. Well...if you're close to the audience they might not like it, but if you lay a nice groove, that should solve it all. :D

3. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

The only other thing I can think of is making sure your fingernails are short and even - I often find that when my fingernails start to grow, they will catch the string and make an unpleasant "twang"!
    This is also more pronounced with lighter gauge strings.