twangy G string ?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by NukeBass, Jul 19, 2000.

1. NukeBass

Jul 8, 2000
    Cornelius, NC
    Hello all,
    All of the basses I've owned have a "twangy" open G that continues up to about the 6th or 7th fret. It just doesn't have the depth of the other 3 strings. Is this standard to basses or a product of string thickness, technique, or EQ? Any ideas?

2. RAM

May 10, 2000
    Chicago, IL

While I am by no means an expert on the subject, there are a few simple explanations for this...

First of all, in general, thinner strings tend to be more "twangy", and may not sound as full as thicker strings. That's why you're experiencing this only with your "g" string.

Second, the "g" string is the least used on a 4 or a 5 string bass, meaning it'll last longer and sound brighter than the other strings which you wear down quicker with more use.

In as far as the sound continues to be twangy up until around the 6th or 7th fret, it is merely because as you shorten the vibration area of a string, you reduce the twanginess. To demonstrate, listen to the overtones of an open string, then play that same string at the 20th fret. Notice a difference in harmonic overtones (ie: clarity)? Now, play the 15th fret of the next highest string...sound a little more clear? Now, try the 10th fret of the next highest string...and so on...

By the way...shouldn't this thread be under strings?
  3. I actually posted a similar thread some time ago regarding a Spector that was troubling me (bass not spirit). Do a search and see what you can find. To summarize tho I think I was advised to adjust string height in relation to the pickups and also to play around with the midrange frequencies.

I had actually replaced the g with a heavier gauge and this did not help. But the above mentioned tips did. I also noticed that the louder I play the less of a concern this was. And by the way, since switching over to an American Standard Jazz I've not had this problem at all.