1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tweed fearful 12/6 with integrated head. Thanks TB!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Meep, Dec 15, 2018.

1. Meep

Meep

Oct 13, 2018
    There are a number of threads already on fearful builds, but as a TB newbie, I appreciated all of them, and wanted to "give back" by sharing my take on it. All of the threads here have been so helpful for amp and speaker choices I've made, thank you!

I'm a more recent bass player, coming from keys and horn. Not gigging right now, I've had time to learn bass, which, maybe should have been my instrument from the beginning. I've always been mesmerized by the sound, the expression, and the pocket, and once I picked one up I've been hooked.

Having PA build experience, I started with two DIY 1x10 neo's with a TCE BH250. They are well suited to indoor practice and easy portability. The 10's are tuned to ~50hz so they go plenty low but tap out (obviously) if pushed at any kind of volume. I love the tuning and the fullness while also capturing J-bass growl. If nothing else, I really like the character of their sound, but when the [convenient] "need" arose for a second amp, I didn't want to lose the character of the tens but knew that something with more output was needed. The low tuning (51hz in this case) of those tens is so unassuming and full, but it limits their output. I’ll post on them later.

I spent months reading different threads and designs. fearful, fearless, BFM. In the end, the Fearful tuning on paper is very close to how I voiced the 10s, so that's what I chose.