1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tweeter power for bass cab

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mariano90, Dec 29, 2017.

1. mariano90

mariano90

Dec 29, 2017
    Hi everybody, I'm a newbie in this forum hope I'll be clear with my concern.
    The thing is I've recently bought a tc electronics bh800, an 800watts bass amp with no speakers and now I'm hoping to design one.
    My idea is to build a 2x10" plus a tweeter cab. Both 10" speakers are 350 watts each, so I guess those will fit perfectly for the 800 watts the amp gives. But I've no idea which tweeter I should use, for what I've seen the most common thing to choose is a 1" tweeter, but what power?
    This are the 10" speakers

B&C Speakers

Then b&c has only a 50watts 1" tweeter to offer, will that be enough?
    Can anybody please help this poor ignorant soul?
    Thanks in advance

2. lz4005

lz4005

Oct 22, 2013
    The kind of tweeter you need depends on what frequency curve you're going for, what kind of crossover you're using, how much space you have in the cab, etc.

3. Rick James

Rick James

Feb 24, 2007
    New Jersey
    You won't want to hear this, but if you have to ask such a basic question you shouldn't be thinking about designing your own cab. For instance, the woofers you want to use are a very poor choice for electric bass. There's a lot more to choosing a woofer than inches and watts. Use a tested and tried design, with the drivers recommended for it.

Al Kraft, Lvjoebass, Gizmot and 5 others like this.
  4. mariano90

mariano90

Dec 29, 2017