Two amps rig

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by oZZma, Sep 13, 2018.

1. oZZma

oZZma

Sep 13, 2018
    Italy
    Hello everybody, this is my first message here although I've read the forum for a long time (lots of useful infos and thing to learn especially for a newbie like me).
    I'm planning my first two amps rig, the idea is to send the dry signal to my Ampeg SVT 3 pro, and heavily distorted/effected to a guitar amp. My budget is 900€ maximum (I prefer buying used amps)
    I've made a search and Peavey 6505 head + ORANGE PPC212OB cabinet would be in budget.
    I'd like to achieve harsh, metallic and heavy sound of bands like, for example Today is The Day
    Is this set up suitable for the sounds I like, in your opinion? I don't know guitar amps very well so any suggestion is welcome!!
    Moreover, any suggestion concerning various problems I've read about two-amps rigs (noises, hum, etc...) and how to avoid them would be very welcome, I'm a newbie and I don't know much about it yet. Thank you!!

2. You are on your own as nobody can predict what sonic success anyone else's wall of cabswill have. One man's raging thunderous doom sounds like a hog on heat to the next guy.

3. And welcome to TB. :)

If you search the fx forums under my username you will find a thread or three where I yap about a whole different way of getting heavy distortion while maintaining low end. No reason you couldn't do sane with tube fx.

oZZma likes this.
  4. el murdoque

el murdoque

Mar 10, 2013
    Germany
    What do you plan on achieving with this rig? Do you want to emulate a guitar or do you just want to spend money on a second rig so your overdriven sound sounds meaner?

oZZma likes this.
  5. Have you looked at maybe just running a kemper?

6. oZZma

oZZma

Sep 13, 2018
    Italy
    I forgot to mention that I play in a duo, we're bass and drums only, so I want emulate a guitar! And thicken the general sound of the band also

7. el murdoque

el murdoque