two bands.. only room for one.......

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by metalguy2, May 1, 2005.

1. metalguy2

Dec 26, 2004
    Yes. For the longest time I though it was possible to juggle more than one band. Up until recently I double booked a gig with the bands that I am in. Now 8 people are frustrated at me. And I have to come to terms with reality. It isn't easy leaving any band. If you form a brotherhood with these people it is like scooping your guts out with a plastic fork.
    So this is what happened. The first band I was in will be called 1. and the new one will be called 2.

About a year ago I left a band (which will be called 0) that wasn't doing anything really. Only to join band 1. So the year goes by and I do my various sideprojects and dropping them as they run out of steam. Band 2 comes along and says. Hey we need a bassplayer. Thinking "Yeah, I love these guys. They are my friends already and I love thier music. SURE WHY NOT" Well I started playing shows RIGHT AWAY! So I start getting real excited about these shows and basically said yes to any show that came along. And the double booking happened. Now this is particularly hard to weigh out, what show I should do considering band 1 doesn't get alot of shows (could be a reason to leave band 1 for band 2) and band 2 is headlining this particular show. Now I already know I am probably going to leave for band 2. But really it is killing me inside. Last night I went out drinking to forget about the situation only to wake up with it on my mind as soon as I opened my eyes. Not really looking for advice. Just want to hear other similar stories and kinda need to hear from people that can relate to the same problems.

Band 2 is almost done recording thier full length album, and is probably gonna go on a tour after sometime in august.