Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Two new basses...strings?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by bebopdeluxe, Jan 14, 2005.

1. bebopdeluxe

bebopdeluxe

Jan 14, 2005
    Hey there...new to the forum...after years of giving the bass secondary thought (I am a guitarist who is, after over 25 years, finally deciding to upgrade a pathetic bass/rig combo), I am finally investing some $$$ in getting a better tone. Not being able to decide between a P and a J, I decided to just get BOTH - an '83 American P and an '86 MIJ Squire J. My new rig (just for grins) is a Behringer BX3000T and an Avatar B212 cab...$500 for the rig - pretty amazing...

Anyway, I am now thinking about strings...thinking that I would put flats on the P and rounds on the J...using the P for traditional rock/blues and the J for brighter stuff. First of all, is that a pretty solid way of thinking about it? I know that I could put rounds on the P, but I figure that if I want a brighter sound/attack, I'll probably use the J anyway.

And as far as choices (as a guitarist, I know that this is HIGHLY subjective), I was thinking about D'Addario chrome flats and DR hi-beams for the rounds. Knowing that there are LOTS of opinions out there as to what strings are the BEST (if there is such a thing), do these choices seem to make sense for the basses that I am putting them on and for the sounds that I am looking to get?

Thanks in advance for the feedback...

2. Welcome!

I too have a P and a J and I use rotosund flats on the P and D'addario Exls on the J. The rotos are fantastic, but I would either go back to roto rounds or try some ProSteels by d'addairo. Depends how bright you want it really...

3. gapupten

gapupten

Dec 29, 2004