Two new basses...strings?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by bebopdeluxe, Jan 14, 2005.

1. bebopdeluxe

Jan 14, 2005
    Hey to the forum...after years of giving the bass secondary thought (I am a guitarist who is, after over 25 years, finally deciding to upgrade a pathetic bass/rig combo), I am finally investing some $$$ in getting a better tone. Not being able to decide between a P and a J, I decided to just get BOTH - an '83 American P and an '86 MIJ Squire J. My new rig (just for grins) is a Behringer BX3000T and an Avatar B212 cab...$500 for the rig - pretty amazing...

Anyway, I am now thinking about strings...thinking that I would put flats on the P and rounds on the J...using the P for traditional rock/blues and the J for brighter stuff. First of all, is that a pretty solid way of thinking about it? I know that I could put rounds on the P, but I figure that if I want a brighter sound/attack, I'll probably use the J anyway.

And as far as choices (as a guitarist, I know that this is HIGHLY subjective), I was thinking about D'Addario chrome flats and DR hi-beams for the rounds. Knowing that there are LOTS of opinions out there as to what strings are the BEST (if there is such a thing), do these choices seem to make sense for the basses that I am putting them on and for the sounds that I am looking to get?

Thanks in advance for the feedback...
  2. Welcome!

I too have a P and a J and I use rotosund flats on the P and D'addario Exls on the J. The rotos are fantastic, but I would either go back to roto rounds or try some ProSteels by d'addairo. Depends how bright you want it really...
  3. gapupten

Dec 29, 2004
    If your P bass is not a fretless, I would try D'Adderio half rounds rather than flats. You save some loss of brightness that you get with the flats. I have tried flats on fretted and have been disappointed.
  4. bebopdeluxe

Jan 14, 2005
    gapupten -