Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Two thumbs

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Robbi, Jan 29, 2003.

1. I have a couple, techniques that I use that I can se as being defined as Double thumbing.
    The term itself is rather new to me, I never heard it B4 (queue canned laugter)

I've searched this site and VW's, and I don't see the specific term.

so simply as possible please Define "Double Thumbing"
    (or of coarse direct me to a thread that does.)

Also feel free to target my lack of knoledge on the subject, especially since I've been playing for near 10 years. (Queue canned oooohs)

Thanx fellow Lo-Noters

R

2. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
    I think that the technique refered to as double thumbing also gets refered to as double thumping - and I think it's in reference to a technique popularized by Victor Wooten involving a fast slapping motion where the thumb strikess the string with a down stroke and then again with an upstroke. I could be wrong, I'm no slap player and don't use any such technique. Check out this thread:

http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?threadid=68908&highlight=double+thump

3. you are right. If you want to really learn this i would pick up the Victor Wooten Super Solo Technique Video or Bass Day 98

4. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    Its not hard just takes some coordination and finesse.
    take a deep breath and repeat after me

down-up
    down-up
    down-up
    down-up
    down-up
    down-up
    down-up
    down-up
    down-up
    down-up
    down-up
    down-up
    ...ad nausem

5. Davehenning

Davehenning

Aug 9, 2001
    Los Angeles
    the guy I originally heard doing "double-thumping" was Muzz Skillings of Living Colour in the late 80's.