1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

two volumes, or blend/volume?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by fenderslaper, Jan 24, 2012.

1. I'm doing some reworking of my 78 Tele bass. It has the humbucking at the neck, and a SD 51 Tele at the sweet spot. Would you do a blend, or two volumes?

2. Neither.

Those don't sound like blendable pickups, so I would do a 3 way switch, personally.

3. OK, what makes them not blendable? I'm new to this type of work.

4. I'm not familiar with the "SD 51 Tele," but if it is a single coil Tele bass pickup, there is likely to be a great difference of output impedance, and perhaps volume, as well.
    This might lead to weird behavior as the pickups are mixed, such as the single coil loading down the humbucker when the pickups are in parallel, and the humbucker getting louder as the single coil is attenuated slightly. Or, the humbucker may always be louder than the single coil.

It's usually easier to just have an all-or-nothing selection of pickups.

5. I see. Thanks!

6. OK, after thinking over line6mans explanation, I still have more questions than answers. First, what is "loading" of the humbucker? and also, if the two pickups have different volumes, isn't that why you have a "balance control"? Sorry if I seem a little (or a lot ) confused here, just trying to get my old mind around some new for me concepts.

7. If you put a low impedance parallel to a pickup, it's going to kill some output and possibly weaken the tone a bit.

Blend pots are meant to crossfade between pickups. It's irritating if the volume changes throughout the rotation.

8. lowfreq33

lowfreq33

Jan 27, 2010
    Nashville
    Endorsing Artist: Genz Benz Amplification