Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Typical Newbie Questions

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by lonote, Feb 21, 2005.

1. After 40 years of EBG, I finally took the plunge. I play in a jump blues band and my bandmates had been nudging me to get an DB. I stumbled onto an old Kay ("Kay Bass Viol" Model M-3, Serial # 55467, says the sticker) 1/2 size, laminated instrument. It is in very good shape BUT it lacks a soundpost and needs new strings and a bag (not to mention a pickup). The bag and strings don't worry me but the soundpost, to my untrained eye, looks like it could be a problem but not a serious or expensive problem. Can somebody give me some idea what I should expect to pay to have a soundpost installed? Is it something I should consider doing myself considering that I have been playing and working on electrics for 40 years? Otherwise, the bass is in what I would call very good condition. I paid $300, which appeared to be stupid cheap even considering the repair. Did I get fleeced or am I the shrewd buyer I like to think I am?

2. Jazzman

Jazzman

Nov 26, 2002
    Raleigh, NC
    Don't do it yourself. And don't have tension on the strings without it. Working on a double bass is not at all like a guitar. My luthier would charge about $80-110 to fit a new soundpost.

3. Jazzman

Jazzman

Nov 26, 2002
    Raleigh, NC
  4. Thanks, I should have had enough sense to loosen the strings without your direction. I suppose that little tidbit, alone, answers my DIY question!

5. Packinmn

Packinmn

Jun 21, 2003
    Nashville, TN
    Hey Lonote... you are in for some really enjoyable pain figuring out how to play (and then amplify!!!) that old girl... I can go from one gig wondering why I ever bothered to the next thinking it's really coming together for me!