Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

U.S. Masters Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by chi42069, Jul 30, 2004.

1. chi42069

chi42069 Guest

Apr 23, 2000
    kentucky
    I did a search and nothing came up. Has anyone here tried a U.S. Masters Bass? Musiciansfriend has them for like 650 to 700. They seem to have a lot of good features. Conical neck, graphite reinforced, pao ferro fretboard, and etc.

thanks

chi

2. fourstring44

fourstring44

Jul 22, 2003
    St. Louis
    I have a US Masters ep5. It has a single P-Bass pickup, it does have 3 band EQ which in my opinion makes the bass as versital as all getout. Here are my favorite things about this bass: 35" scale ( a must for a 5 string IMHO) wide string spacing, double asymetrical neck which feels wonderful. This is my only experience with US Masters, but quite honestly I have never had a bass feel better than this one. I would put this up against the MTD 535 I had or any other bass I have had for that matter. The neck is a piece of art. Theese guys really nailed the fit and feel of the neck. It is very lightyweight as well in the 6-7LB range. I bought this bass used off of ebay and it has totally made me a fan of US Masters. This is the only 5 string I have never replaced.

3. Philbiker

Philbiker Pat's the best!

Dec 28, 2000
    Northern Virginia, USA
    My brother used to work in a guitar shop, has owned something like 20 guitars over the years, and has been playing for 25 years. His US Masters Strat is the best Strat he's ever laid hands on, including Andersons and other very high end models. It looks and sounds unbelievable.

I've toyed with US Masters basses and been impressed.

But damn is that body style ugly! I don't know if I could get past that, but I think most basses are pretty ugly, even real high end ones.

4. Tristan

Tristan

Jan 28, 2001
    Ottawa, Canada