Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

UA LA-610...talk me down, man...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by dunamis, Jan 10, 2006.

1. dunamis

dunamis

Aug 2, 2004
    Charlotte
    :help:

I've been using an Avalon U5 as a DI for a few months and like it a lot for it's "depth" and "dimensionality" (sorry for the lame descriptors :p ). But, I've decided I don't care much for the passive tone control, and I miss having a bit of compression available. I pulled out an old ART Levelar (I prefer leveling amp type compressors), but I really would like a better quality compressor (quieter), and prefer a one-box solution. The other thing I miss is some source of a bit of "tube drive" sound. The U5 is a really clean pre (IMO)-- doesn't do distortion.

So, I've been looking at a few preamps, channel strips, whatever you call them, and have really homed in on Unversal Audio's LA-610. It's tube based, and has preamp/eq/and compression all in one box. The compressor section is probably great, the pre is neat because you can drive the tube with input gain and control the gain to board with the Level knob (can't do with U5).

I've also considered the Millenia TD-1 and the Avalon VT737SP. The Avalon's got a lot knobs (I like *really* simple controls 'cause I tend to "fiddle" with the knobs and not conctrate on playing well :p ). The Millenia has no compressor, so I'd still need an outboard one.

The UA seems like the what the Dr. ordered. I don't hear of them used as a live rig front end/di for bass much though. Could be because it's not bass centric, pretty new product, maybe percieved as fragile (5 tubes inside). I dunno...