1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. Welcome Back!  Please see this thread for more info about the site outage.  Thank you for your patience as we work out bugs and tweak server configs.

Uh oh, Hondo

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by New2bass2, May 10, 2017.

Tags:
  1. New2bass2

New2bass2

Apr 15, 2017
    So I got a new bass today for $40.00 worth of old Tonka toys that were rusted and taking up space . It's a Hondo H-815-bl , nice little bass but the action is very high to me . I'm new to bass and I was looking for a cheap beach companion to pluck around with without worrying about anything. To me for now I just have been playing without amp , i figure when I can do something more than "smoke over water" I'll plug in to hear me do better .
    Ok, so I took the neck off and put 2 Buisness cards as shims in it and it didn't really do anything , maybe I should have used playing cards but Buisness cards were on hand . Anyway the neck seems strait , i cranked down on the tress rod and still way to high for me . I know it's a very cheap bass but I could be willing to get it professionally adjusted but will anything work to get the action lower .. the neck is sweet looking and feeling to me and I like the very short size .. enclosed pictures hoping someone knows a way to shim a cheap old toy ..

Attached Files:

PortlandBass77 likes this.
  2. New2bass2

New2bass2

Apr 15, 2017
    This was fun , remind me to come back

3. What about the bridge saddles? Are they as low as they will go? If so, then you will need to shim the neck properly. Specifically you only need to shim the rear half of the neck pocket in order to provide some tilt to it. It wasn't clear to me how you shimmed it. If you shim the entire neck pocket you will simply raise the neck straight up but it won't affect your string height nearly as much as tilting the neck.