Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

uh-oh... techies, a little help please!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by arcellus, Mar 6, 2004.

1. arcellus

arcellus

Feb 28, 2004
    Portland, OR
    hey all, need some tech advice -
    i just bought an eden 210xlt (8ohm) and mackie m1200 power amp (1200w bridged @ 8ohm), both used, and am having a big problem... the sound is VERY quiet and distorted - fuzz in the low end, what small low end there is anyway. it sounds like something is being overdriven but i can't imagine what... i'm not an electrician but i did my best to trace the signal path - tested all speaker connections and solders with a circuit tester (is testing ohm load the right thing to do?) and everything seems fine.
    i'm using an aguilar obp924 preamp but have eleminated that as a possible problem.. could it be the cab's crossover/input section? maybe the amp output? i've tried all of the amp's input and output configs with the same reslut.. i THINK all of my cables are okay... haven't tried switching cabs yet to eliminate it or the amp as the problem (don't have any others...)
    ANY IDEAS???? please give me some input and tell me i didn't get ripped off with a blown piece of gear.... HELP! :confused:

2. nonsqtr

nonsqtr The emperor has no clothes!

Aug 29, 2003
    Burbank CA USA
    Hi Arcellus, I'd try to take either the amp or the cab (or both) to your local music store. Try the amp with another cab, and the cab with another amp. You can probably isolate the problem that way.

3. Are you using the right cable to connect the cab bridged? I don't know if the amp has speakons, but speakons have to be wired differently for bridged operation.

You can check by running the amp stereo. If the sound is ok then, you need a rewired cable.

4. ihixulu

ihixulu Supporting Member

Mar 31, 2000
    getting warmer