Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

UK people: Does getting a parking ticket result in points on your licence?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by parrott, Oct 24, 2002.

1. Situation: Me parking my car in a place I'm not allowed to, with me not reading signs properly to check if I was - "Parking in a restricted street during prescribed hours"

Result: I got my first parking ticket today. :(

Thing is, while I can afford to pay the fine, I'm still a new driver (passed in May) and I'm still in the "probationary period." That means that if I get 6 points, my licence is revoked, instead of a mature drivers 12 (I think).

Will that parking ticket put points on my licence? If so, how many? And will they get removed after so many years, like they seem to do in the US?

And is there anything else I should know about this situation?

2. Johnny BoomBoom

Johnny BoomBoom Supporting Member

Jun 8, 2001
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Don't panic - you don't get points for getting a straight forward parking ticket.

My wife managed to get a couple a few years ago (in my car I should add!)

I got my first (in 13 years of driving) between Christmas and New Year (the meter had run out by 2 minutes - I checked the time the ticket was issued, GRRRRRRR)

All you have to do is pay the fine - the good people in Glasgow City Council half the cost if you pay within 14 days, how kind.

Don't panic - and learn to read the signs!!!;)

3. No, drunk in charge and speeding are the lowest offenses that get you points on your license.

I'm not sure if points get removed after a set time or not - I don't think they do.

4. jazzbo

jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    That would suck if you got points on your license for parking tickets in the states. Living in SF, I got about 10 a year. I think I'd have 400 points on my record right now.

5. Johnny BoomBoom

Jun 8, 2001