1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ukulele sector?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Wulfensteiner, Apr 23, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Wulfensteiner

Wulfensteiner Banned

Mar 24, 2018
    Melbourne, Australia
    Taking a look around, it's fair to say that we all share a deep appreciation for four-stringed instruments :)

So in my estimation, it's only right that the ukulele finds its way into that circle of appreciation. Well, screw you guys, I appreciate it haha.

I'm a very clueless beginner and I'd like to expand my mind about this sweet sounding little wooden box. And Id love to do so among you guys. If there is anyone on TB who can share hints, tips, experiences, the time they used their uke as a doobie ashtray, please speak up and enlighten us!

T_Bone_TL likes this.
  2. T_Bone_TL

T_Bone_TL

Jan 10, 2013
    NW Mass/SW VT
    Plenty of fans of the rubber-stringed bass uke, with a number of folks comparing it favorably to a plucked upright once run through an amp. Not to mention being so much more portable (and less expensive) if you were going to amp the upright anyway, but I'm stuck with an amp-hostile but otherwise nice set of folks, so I gotta haul the big one.

As for the other sort, if anything pries folks off their phones & tablets to play some actual music, I'm in favor, though I feel like the uke craze has peaked and started to fall off a tad. But I've seen a fair few go on to play additional instruments, and if playing a uke brings you joy, joy be with you. I know a few (and know of considerably more) who are not even the youth market (whence I perceived the craze to be) that are involved in ukulele orchestras/bands.

Last edited: Apr 23, 2018
  3. the_home

the_home Gold Supporting Member

Jul 14, 2005
    Pensacola, FL