1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ultra Jazz on a P bass?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by bassbenj, Dec 31, 2011.

1. bassbenj

bassbenj

Aug 11, 2009
    P-bass noob here. I've been Jonesing for a 5 string P-bass forever. But an Am. P-bass 5er is just too much cash. So I bought a 5 string Squier P/J-bass off a TBer and previously I had bought a Genuine Fender 5 string P-bass pickup set from some surplus place. The plan was to put the pickup in the Squier and build a kind of poor-man's P-bass 5er.

First about the Squier P/J-bass 5er. Positively the WORST bass I've ever played! The pickups (which are two JAZZ pickups) are WAY too short for the string spacing which makes the B string much quieter than the rest which really makes the bass sound bad! Plus they are single coil and hum like mad!

OK. Looks like the original plan was good. So I figured replace the neck Jazz with my surplus P-bass 5er pickup and get some kind of "noiseless" J for the bridge. I look up Dimarzio Ultra Jazz 5s. Good reviews. Great price. Seem perfect! Almost a perfect fit and side by side coils for humbucking!

But here's where the problem comes in: I'm thinking why not just get a SET of Dimarzios and replace BOTH pickups with them and return it to the Jazz/jazz configuration it already has. This would mean I could avoid a lot of routing and getting a custom pickguard. Just a bit of dremeling ought to do it.

Now here's my questions:

1. What's the deal with the Squier P-bass with two Jazz pickups anyway? Is it really a P-bass with Jazz pickups? Is it going to sound like a P-bass? Or is this just going to be one more Jazz bass with slightly different neck and body?