1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Umm.... How would you go about removing a chunk of glass from your fingertip?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by tehuberc, May 11, 2011.

1. tehuberc

tehuberc

Mar 1, 2007
    I have basically no supplies except for a nail clipper, which I'm pretty sure is writhing with bacteria. Do you think it would somehow find its way out if I just left it there? A pretty large portion is sticking out.

2. Anything sharp will work, just sanitize it with something first. Rubbing alcohol works well. You need to get it out of there. Try and hook onto it with a needle, or I've used a thumb tack before after sanitizing the tip because I had nothing else. My father would just use a razor blade, but he's a redneck.

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor, just a guy who has had to dig stuff out of myself before.

3. Linas

Linas

Jan 6, 2005
    Chicago
    Get pliers. Heat them up, or soak them in alcohol. or both. Get the glass out. Run the cut under water for a while. Soak cut in alcohol. Profit?

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor, just a guy who has had to dig stuff out of myself before.

4. I'd just cut the finger off.

5. True... also- glass will shatter when exposed to temperature fluctuations, so light it on fire and then hit it with a fire extinguisher. You win... oh- and pics please!

6. drteeth

drteeth

Apr 1, 2008
    Leuven, Belgium
    Depends on the size of the shard.

For large shards I've used an unsanitized leatherman (in less than ideal conditions). Pulled it out, then enthousiastically disinfected the wound.

For splinters I've used an unsanitized swiss army knife to get beneath the splinter and dig it out. Disinfect enthousiastically.

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor, just a guy who has had to dig stuff out of myself before, who is now wondering how he has not lost a finger before.

7. sandmangeck

sandmangeck

Jul 2, 2007