Ummm well i need help/Advice!!

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by bannah_avecmoi, Nov 5, 2004.

1. bannah_avecmoi

Nov 5, 2004
    Ok well i am in a bit of a pickel... I have been playing the upright bass for about i dont 5 years, and i am leaving high school a year early to not go strait into college but a form of education for a year. I am weighing out the possiblities of buying a bass, but i wont hav much room where i am staying and i dont want to just quite playing for a year then go into college???? what is my best choice ( where i am going there inst a orchestra)?? And i really need to keep going on the bass cause i havent really out my heart into it untill this last year nad i didnt learn much while i was being a slacker, and now i am so ready to learn more

thanks hannah :cool:
  2. Savino

Jun 2, 2004
    What, . . . . exactly what is the question here? and believe me, if most of the people on this board were forced to live in a closet, there would be a bass in there.
  3. Damon Rondeau

Damon Rondeau Journeyman Clam Artist Supporting Member

Nov 19, 2002
    Winnipeg, baby
    Wanna be a bass player? The secret is simple: get a bass and play it as much as you can. Don't wanna be a bass player? It's another simple answer: don't have a bass, or don't play it if you do have one.

If you want it, you will find a way to get it. Any of us around here that are still at it decades later have gone via that path. Save money, borrow money, rent one, make a washtub bass and play that, whatever: do something.
  4. bannah_avecmoi

Nov 5, 2004
    i was thinkin i was just going to buy a electric then work on that, fo r a bit then buy a upright i am hesistant about buying one cause i really dont know what would be a good one to start with.
  5. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001