Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Unconvincing bass and amp sound

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by APouncer, Jun 11, 2001.

1. APouncer

APouncer

Nov 3, 2000
    Lancashire, UK
    Sorry for the repetitive nature of my post, but as my set-up is different from others who have asked the same question, I must re-post.

It's my sound, I have been playing quietly, barely amped until recently, now I am playing in more 'live' and 'jamming' situations without a PA so I need help with my sound.

I have a Yamaha BBN4F fretless bass (2 soapbar pick-ups) and a Fender 60w combo amp. The amp has low, low-mid, high-mid and high along with a push button mid cut(?).

I have no real experience of having my own amp, I've always just gone into the PA thinking that tone is all in the bass and your fingers. My sound now is trebly, un-rounded and generally un-impressive with the amp. I've fiddled and can't get a decent sound out of the amp and bass.

Any suggestions?

2. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    Sit down and set your bass up with both pickups all the way up and tone maxed. Now start with the amp EQ all at 12:00 position.

First try ONLY the mid cut button. Listen carefully to what it does. Now turn it off, go to the bass contol and try different setting: cut and boost. lisatern to what it does. Repeat with ALL the EQ now you have arough idea of what part of the tone each affects. Boosting them you probably heard some ugly stuff!

Anyway, if it's too trebly overall, your best bet is leave the mid cut OFF, boost low mids, high mids flat or cut slightly, treble cut slightly and then adjust the bass EQ to taste.

Keep in mind that a 60 watt combo amp swill not have a big, fat tone...not enough wattage! Expecting it to sound like an SVT is fruitless.