Understand Freq. Response

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by progplayer, Dec 27, 2001.

1. progplayer

Nov 7, 2001
    I'm not good at this stuff but want to learn what it all means. When I look at cabs and they list freq response how do i translate this stuff?

Example I was comparing the SWR 2x10 with the Eden 2x10.

SWR = -3db@45hz-15khz
    Eden= +/-2db@48hz-14khz

translation please? :D thanks
  2. Those numbers you put down are the frequency responses for those 2 cabinets. The "dB" is the decibel and it is used to describe the ratio of 2 sounds levels, voltages, whatever. Usual terms are "-3 dB", which means "sounds a little lower".

So if you had a tone generator and played it through the cabinet, every sound between 45 Hz (low rumble of the E string is 41Hz) and 15,000 Hz (very high pitch, like the highest squeal you can do with your voice) would sound about equal, and once you went below 45 or above 15,000 Hz, the volume of sound put out by the cabinet would decrease, even though the wattage going into the cabinet may still be the same.

The "+/-2 dB" means the sound level will "vary just a little bit, up and down" between 48Hz and 14,000 Hz.

Not a big difference at all between the 2 cabinets, I would think. You can barely here the difference between 2 sound levels that are 2-3 dB apart. And the difference between 45 and 48 Hz and 14K and 15KHz is not much.

The next thing to worry about is the efficiency of the cabinet - how many dB per Watt at 1 meter? The higher the number, the louder the cabinet is for a given amount of power.

3. progplayer

Nov 7, 2001
    hmmmm, some say the eden puts out more bass than the swr...hmmmm
  4. geshel

Oct 2, 2001
    Well, if the Eden has a higher sensetivity rating, then it might appear to put out more low-end. Also, within that +/- curve, which frequencies are + and which are - (even though it's pretty slight) can have an effect on the character of the sound the cabinet produces.