Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Understanding intonation

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by teej, Nov 26, 2004.

1. teej

teej

Aug 19, 2004
    Sheffield, AL 35660
    I'm quite new at this luthiery stuff, so things like intonation are foreign to me. For a while, I was under the impression that as long as the nut on a 34" scale neck (or any scale, really) is 34" from the bridge saddles, the intonation would be correct. However, I accidentally read a post that says Warmoth's Custom T bass bodies are "stretched" to fit the scale. In otherwords, body length is a factor. I thought the distance from neck heel to bridge didn't matter, as long as the neck is the right scale and the nut is the correct distance from the saddles.

You see, I found a few bolt-on hollowbody guitar bodies (without hardware, electronics, etc.) on eBay that I would like to use as bass bodies, but now I'm affraid that the bodies aren't long enough. So basically, I can't just put a bass neck on, even if I repositioned the bridge??

2. seanm

seanm I'd kill for a Nobel Peace Prize! Supporting Member

Feb 19, 2004
    Ottawa, Canada
    You are correct.
    Guitar bodies are smaller than bass bodies. To a fit a standard neck they had to stretch the body. You could also stretch the neck (i.e. more frets) but it would be cheaper for them to stretch the body. They probably also did it to help with neck dive.
    As long as the bridge is not off the body, the intonation will be ok. You will probably end up with a very unbalanced bass though.

Note: I am not a Luthier! I should really check the forum before posting.

3. teej

teej

Aug 19, 2004
    Sheffield, AL 35660
    Ahh, OK. Just stretch the neck, then. I'm not too concerned with neck dive, though. I've got a bass with quite a bit of it, so I'm actually quite used to dive.

4. seanm