1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Unidentified VERY OLD Bass, looking for info.

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by mojoluthier, Mar 1, 2016.

1. mojoluthier

mojoluthier

Feb 17, 2007
    Petaluma, CA
    I have been wheeling and dealing basses for 25 years or so, but haven't had much experience with genuine vintage instruments. My long time friend Dalton Dillingham passed away this last year and his estate has chosen me to distribute some of the better parts of his lifetime "booty". I have four of his basses and also, coincidentally, 4 bows. Two of the basses I know well, as he bought them from me, but two others are over my head to identify.

One he believed to be a genuine Ruggieri, though he also said it was made in the late 1500's which is contradictory. It is 7/8th by today's reckoning, black with age, and has a flatsawn top. I have no idea what it actually is, and will post pictures later perhaps, it is not the one I am asking about here.

The other oddball is a 5/8ths, is my favorite of the 4, and has some unusual features. It has been converted to a 5 string (high C) and has the extra tuner on the tailpiece, so could be retro-engineered easily enough by trimming the add-on edges off the fingerboard. The back was carved with facets radiating from the kerfed bend in the upper bout, the place where flatbacks usually bend. The carve is in high relief at the crease. My photo skills do not show it as I wished, perhaps I'll try again. The other odd thing is the shape of the head, which does photograph well.

I am looking for any information about the maker and era of this bass, as well as its value. Thank in advance for sharing your knowledge.

front2.

front.

back1.

weirdcarve.

headtrebleside.

headtreblerear.

2. That's really interesting. The seemingly random blend of design elements makes absolutely no sense to me.