uninspired feelings

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Mind Eroded, Sep 29, 2004.

1. lately ive been really down in the dumps about my bass playing. Ive been playing for 4 years and just broke up with my band this summer. Id have to say this bummed me out and when i jam on my own, i can never come up with anything good. Sometimes i think too hard and as soon as i plug in i start playing some boring played out progressions for a few minutes then i just hang my bass back up on my wall. This happens at least 7 or 8 times a day. I also feel bad cause i recently bought a beautiful fender jazz w/natural finish and cant seem to give it the action it deserves. Has anyone here ever found themselves in this type of situation? :(
  2. lbanks

Jul 17, 2003
    Ennui, IN USA
    Sometimes I need to step away and let it rest for a few days.
  3. that works...
    otherwise something that works for me is get something new...something like an effect pedal, like a cheap envelope filter or even a loop pedal, and take those boring progressions and solo over them or something...try something new!

good luck
  4. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    Call it "writer's block"
    Outside of getting a new pedal or whatever, another trick is taking out an album and learning all of the songs. don't torture yourself by white knuckling a flecktones album, i did that with "siamese dream" and "core" when i ws in a similar slump. You can also head on down to some open mic nights and back some people up. A lot of times the OMN's have a house band and all too often the bass player will be more than happy to let you play for an hour so he/she can go grab a drink and hang out.
  5. Dan Molina

Dan Molina TalkBass Secular Progressive

Jul 17, 2002
    Murr Town, California
    try play *gasp* guitar.
  6. IvanMike

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    run away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! run away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!