University of Chicago

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Eric Cioe, Feb 25, 2004.

1. Eric Cioe

Eric Cioe

Jun 4, 2001
    Missoula, MT
    Does anyone here go there? As a highschool junior, I'm looking at this for my higher learning.

I'm going to take a college visit day coming up in the spring to UofC.

I will probably dual major in Philosophy and something else.

Anyone have experience or opinions?
  2. do they have a jazz program? if so you should definitely consider that for your dual. im currently enrolled in a double major in mechanical engineering and jazz studies next year at USC :)
  3. Dear Eric,

I was an undergraduate at the University of Chicago in the seventies. I would be more than happy to talk with you at length about my experiences and to offer some insights into the school if you would like. Please e-mail me at and we can arrange this if you are interested.

Briefly, the University of Chicago is very intense place academically. It is primarily a graduate institution and produces more college professors as a percentage than any other school in the country. It also has produced a staggering number of Nobel prize winners. It is not a place to go if you are interested in extracurrricular activites or having a lot of fun outside of your brain. That said, you will recieve an education second to none.