1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Unknown Bass?!?!?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by tommygo, Apr 22, 2009.

1. tommygo

tommygo

Apr 22, 2009
    Hi everybody, a friend of mine gave me this bass, but I dunno anything about this brand... I searched on internet, but nothing at all...Never existed...I'm a newbie, but i think it's a cheap bad bass. Do you know anything??

Attached Files:

2. scottbass

scottbass Bass lines like a big, funky giant

Jul 13, 2004
    Southern MN
    How does it play? How does it sound? The price was certainly reasonable! If it plays OK and sounds OK, you got a great deal!

There are zillions of generic low-cost PJ basses produced in Asia with all kinds of names on the headstocks. Who cares? If it plays OK but sounds bad, you can spend $50 or $100, replace the pickups and buy some decent strings. Then you will have a bass that plays OK and sounds OK for very little money. That's better than a lot of first basses!

3. sixway

sixway Supporting Member

Aug 20, 2006
    Kailua, Hawaii
    It looks like a nice bass, with P and J pickups to play through. Looks like your friend didn't know or care to install the strings correctly though, so learn how to do that properly.

The price is right, and it probably sounds decent - enjoy!

4. Rush-2112

Rush-2112

Dec 14, 2008
    New York City
    I don't know if this will help, but I have found the same brandname on what appears to be a Les Paul guitar copy.

http://www.wikizic.org/Chevy-Les-Paul/gallery-2.htm

Check out the headstock...same as your bass.

EDIT: Harmony Central seems to have a couple reviews for this brand...

http://reviews.harmony-central.com/reviews/Guitar/brand/Cheri/Chevy