1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Unsure about playing

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by ergodynebass, Aug 18, 2007.

1. Lets see.. lately I've really been wanting to get into a band or something but I have a problem. For one I am a very shy person and it's hard for me to get up on a stage infront of even 100 people. That I could probably manage after time I'm sure. I have been playing for about 7 years, took lessons for 2 but for some reason I just feel like I'm not good enough even though I see these guys on stage that obviously don't know what they are doing.

One time some friends invited me over to jam so I decided to come along and I really didn't know the song but they continued jamming and just said I suck afterwards even though I was blending in quite nicely. Just because I didn't know how to play the song like whatever bass player in the band played it exactly like. I have sort of wanted to be in the church band for a while however some of them are actually pretty good and I don't think I could manage playing that well. There has been a few other people approach me on playing but I don't like the music that they play I just feel like I can't find the right band I want to play in but I want to so I can learn more about this awesome instrument. Any suggestions on what to try here?

2. Try getting some new friends. As for your playing, nothing will make you more comfortable performing than doing it. Just get out there and soon it will be old hat.

3. DocBop

DocBop

Feb 22, 2007
    Los Angeles, CA