Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

update on right hand four finger techique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by electricdemon3, Aug 31, 2000.

1. electricdemon3

electricdemon3

Jul 28, 2000
    A while back, someone posted about learning to play with three fingers instead of two and I mentioned how I have been practicing with four for a few months now. The technique I have been using is alternating from my index to my middle to my ring to my pinky creating a 1-2-3-4-1-2-3-4 pattern. I got to the point where my speed has exceeded the speed I used to achieve with two fingers. However, that is comparing to how fast I was at two fingers before I started practicing with four. I recently went back to two and realized that even though I wasn't practicing that way, my speed has increased over all no matter how many fingers I use. I can still play fastest with two.

Anyhow, I watched closely when I played with two and when I played with four and noticed what was slowing me down when I used four. Its finger independence. My first finger is completely independent from my middle finger. However, when I use my middle finger, I find that my ring finger goes down slightly with it. This makes me slower since I have to reposition my ring finger to play the string, so its like I have to do an upward motion before I go back down to attack. This same codependent problem occurs with my ring and pinky fingers.