1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Upgrade for Used Milestone III Bass

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by ChuckDav, Apr 9, 2009.

1. ChuckDav

ChuckDav

Apr 9, 2009
    Pardon my newb status guys, but I really would love some experienced input on my issue.

I just bought a used Peavey Milestone III at a music store to back up my son, who is really progressing rapidly on guitiar. I am a musician so I have an ear. Although I am a complete Bass newb, it appears to play pretty well. I made sure to play it for two weeks so I could hear and feel differences in other basses. I played a Warlock, Fender American P and J basses and a Fender Squire last night for two hours. There was obviously no comparison in feel or tone to the Warlock or Fender Americans. The Millstone III played quite a bit better (seriously) than the Squire and a few other 200.00 models of basses. The Squire and others rattled a lot and the tone degraded with more aggressive play.

The tone was much more centered on the Fender J's, and the low end especially, I could play aggressively with the tone staying focused. My Milestone sounds fine on the low end, but can lose tone if too aggressive for sure.

I am playing my Peavey on a new Create 25 watt amp.

I was considering upgrading to get mine a little better. I have read through a LOT of posts on string and pickups - which are very specific.

My question is...is it worth putting in another 150.00 or so for good quality pick ups? I am faily certain these are stock pick ups. Would I really get that much more out of the instrument or is it too subjective to make a real difference?