Upgrade from Ampeg BA108

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by marh415, Nov 12, 2016.

1. marh415

marh415

Nov 30, 2013
    RI
    I have an Ampeg BA108 that I've been using since I started playing almost 3 years ago. Although it has suited my needs quite well, I'm longing for something with a more tonal options and grit if I needed it.

I really like the G&K MB110 after watching and reading the reviews online. Would this be a good upgrade to my current combo? I don't play in a band currently, so this amp wouldn't leave my home.

2. tfer

tfer

Jan 1, 2014
    I'm not an Ampeg guy, although I own both the BA108 and a PF500, but if you are happy with the tone, I'd look into a bigger rig from them.

Ampeg is the definition of bass grind, and any of their products that has a gain control will give you all that you want.

marh415 likes this.
  3. brbadg

brbadg

Nov 10, 2006
    Timonium,Maryland
    Looks like that would be a lateral move rather than an upgrade , from the looks of it.

marh415 likes this.
  4. Thummel

Thummel

Jun 24, 2007
    West Texas
    none
    Go with the GK mb 212II, nice little amp for practice at the house but also enough power to play low and medium volume gigs. Swiss army knife approach. If you just want a little amp for the house only just keep the ba108.

marh415 likes this.
  5. deathness

deathness

Jan 19, 2015
    BKLYN
    Agree that a 1x10 budget combo isnt much of an upgrade. What are your goals with this new kit? Play out? Jam with friends? Shake the neighborhood? Or sound famous in your bedroom? Funny you pick gk cuz many of their products are voiced on the opposite of the tone spectrum from a lot of ampeg gear.

marh415 likes this.
  6. marh415

marh415

Nov 30, 2013
    RI