Upgraded my B2R to a SVT3PRO

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by rodl2005, Mar 16, 2006.

1. :hyper: Just got me an AMPEG SVT3PRO- traded in my B2R for it- LOVELY, Ive been playing bass live in bands since 1978-so my 1st amp was an Aust made "VASE" valve head with a 15" & 12" in the same cab- that got stolen around 1985! So I used a mates Fender bassman(silverface-with blue writing) 100w Valve head, Till I had enough $$$ to buy my own-which was a AUST made EMINAR valve "PA" head-worked fine for bass tho! HAve always loved the way U can feel valve amps-even at low volumes- I remember hoe people were amazed that once -about 10 yrs ago- I took the Ampeg SVT350AH??? not sure of model no.- BUT it was basically a B2R in a SVT casing- off of the SVT810E cab it was sitting on & replaced it with MY Eminar 200w valve head! Ppl couldnt believe I was gonna use a old Aust. Eminar instead of the Ampeg Supplied for the gig! BUT 2 me there was NO comparison- I could have 1/2 the vol. on stage coz I could FEEL the bass( & believe me, it sounded great thru the 8x10") where as the 350w tranny amp seemed to me to be UNDER powerered to run the SVT810E, whe my 200wvalve head ran it beautifully!!! But time goes by- I get older & due to tone & weight factors I bought a B2R & it was a great li'l amp. Lovely tone -almost Valve like! Almost! But last week I bit the bullet & lost my $$$$ but bought (I THINK) the best of both worlds- the SVT3PRO!!! Hallelujah- again I can feel the tone-even at low volumes- & it has the lovely AMPEG tone! Can't wait to test it out in my other band, a 7 piece that plays LOUD- rock, RnB & old(real IMHO) Rythm & Blues.
    Sorry to ramble on & thanx for "listening"
    Basically-so far I love this amp. What do all U other TB'ers think of the SVT3pro?:bag:
  2. The 0x

The 0x

Aug 24, 2003
    Timonium, MD
    I don't like it. :bag:

I'm glad you do, though! :)
  3. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004